Sweet summer rain or not and other stuff

Summer has a habit of going so fast and this year is no exception,we have been doing loads of stuff making and markets. It’s mostly too routine to talk about so I didn’t ,there was one,the Carshalton Lavender fair that was very good despite the weather on the Sunday.The field is situated on some allotments in Carshalton beeches and is very secluded,it is run by volunteers who work really hard to promote it,they distill the oil and lavender water and take it around some of the markets we go to.Lavender is a traditional crop for the area and they still use the original genus of the plant that was always used locally.

with some help from my candle guru we made lavender candles in terracotta pots

with some help from my candle guru we made lavender candles in terracotta pots

IMG_0299we enjoyed our weekend, dillydilly.IMG_0298IMG_0297IMG_0296IMG-20150804-WA0001IMG-20150804-WA0003

On the Sunday you could see what pots we'd sold

On the Sunday you could see what pots we’d sold

About timbartell

I was born in a flat in Lambeth the name of which was, Wedgewood house,China walk estate.I'd forgotten this until recently,it dawned on me the significance of the names after I had become interested in pottery/ceramics.I think of myself as a potter in the most practical sense,making pots for people to use.I have never had any formal training,I took it up when the table tennis class was full.My first flat was in the same road as a pottery centre, Elmwood pottery, the best in London, 18 sessions a week and a real community. I love my craft and bore everyone with it, so am grabbing this chance to bore more people via this blog.There may be the odd interesting item, here's hoping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

