RAKU 2015

If you have given up smoking and have big cravings come to a raku doo, you can inhale cubic metres of smoke and not feel guilty at all.

 

Not so much smoke this year,trying to keep in with the neighbours

Not so much smoke this year,trying to keep in with the neighbours

This years Firing was set to be the biggest one yet, with the Selsdon marching band, the Addington cheerleaders and the famous tribute singer Elton Jim all booked it was all set to be the most entertaining one yet . Problem was I got muddled and booked them for the 17th so they all turned up on Sunday one day late, still it was a nice show.

I had been watching the weather forecast all week luckily the sun came out and it was all good all day, which was a good job because all the glazing buckets etc were outside.

DSCF2208DSCF2232DSCF2233DSCF2234DSCF2238DSCF2253DSCF2256DSCF2255DSCF2270

 

I had made some new glazes and topped up favourites, they always get silly names to help us remember them better,the new ones were ‘no hope 4 green,yet another turquoise, turkwarse USA and 40 shades of ?. They worked well .This time I had a helper get the pots out of the kiln Jon Cullum , which was a great help it gets really hot. This time it was hotter than other firings for some reason, I actually got burnt through a leather jacket ,very odd.

We had some new folks this time Sue and Janice I think they might be converted.We were firing up to about 6, I think.

We also had a re onion with our old teacher Alex, who has been living in Prague but luckily has come back to live in Bath, it was lovely to see her.DSCF2272

 

In between the social bits there were some very lovely pots coming out, thank you to everyone for making the day go so well, thank you for all your food and drink contributions too, they were all lovely.

Monday morning pouring with rain I spotted a little puff of smoke coming from one of the dustbins .

About timbartell

I was born in a flat in Lambeth the name of which was, Wedgewood house,China walk estate.I'd forgotten this until recently,it dawned on me the significance of the names after I had become interested in pottery/ceramics.I think of myself as a potter in the most practical sense,making pots for people to use.I have never had any formal training,I took it up when the table tennis class was full.My first flat was in the same road as a pottery centre, Elmwood pottery, the best in London, 18 sessions a week and a real community. I love my craft and bore everyone with it, so am grabbing this chance to bore more people via this blog.There may be the odd interesting item, here's hoping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

