Firing ( the newly modified kiln ).

With a delayed woodfiring I decided to fire the pots that were made for that in the newly altered kiln, with only partial success.

 

An early morning ( 5.20 am ) start climbed up on the roof to open the chimney and lit the burners, slow flame to drive out what moisture there was in the kiln and ware. There was rather a lot of steam, it looked like smoke and I was expecting a neighbour to ring the fire brigade .

DSC_0491

 

Eventually the steam went and left just fuzzy heat and progress was steady my new thermocouple was doing it’s job and sending a little electric current to the pyrometer. This was a stoneware firing so a little reduction was started a 935 c at 1035 at 1235, I love the way the kiln almost rejects the flame and spits it out.

DSCN6780

The front of the kiln was never going to reach temperature whilst the back was going to get overfired  the cones at the back were going over.

DSCN6783

 

With this dilemma happening,  I decided to stop and make the best of things better underfired than ruined by overfired, live to fight another day with a bird in the bush saving time with no moss.

DSCN6768

 

There were some nice pots with the Thames mud slip working ok at stone ware.

DSC_0422

 

 

With some modification the kiln will work properly, I will make a change to the way the flame moves through the kiln, as Freddie Waring used to say ‘ oop n oonder’. The upright fire bricks were pushing the flame away from the front of the kiln,they will have to out plus possibly one underneath.

 

DSCN6769

The under fired pots will go with me to Devon later in the year to be fired in the wood and soda kiln.

DSCN6785

Eventually  the kiln will be sorted, by which time, it will be worn out. Never a dull moment is there, learning a lot on the way

About timbartell

I was born in a flat in Lambeth the name of which was, Wedgewood house,China walk estate.I'd forgotten this until recently,it dawned on me the significance of the names after I had become interested in pottery/ceramics.I think of myself as a potter in the most practical sense,making pots for people to use.I have never had any formal training,I took it up when the table tennis class was full.My first flat was in the same road as a pottery centre, Elmwood pottery, the best in London, 18 sessions a week and a real community. I love my craft and bore everyone with it, so am grabbing this chance to bore more people via this blog.There may be the odd interesting item, here's hoping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

