THIS LITTLE PIGGY WENT TO MARKET

I bet you are all a wondering how much effort goes into a market, when you see a craftsperson at a stall, they look relaxed chatty, most will spend sometime explaining their work,it all looks so effortless. But if you knew how much work went into just the day not just the hours making the stuff, you would be surprised.

My van completely chocca

My van completely chocca

We did a market in Croydon my local ‘town’ this was the first one and in an area that is yet to realise it’s full potential, but a little out of the way.

The building behind the stalls is the old water pumping station, it started it’s life as a air pumping station that powered a fantastic atmospheric railway that ran into West Croydon, when the experiment failed it was re-erected as a pumping engine here. It extracted water from a well underneath, and still does with electric pumps.

IMG_0737IMG_0738

We had a good day didn’t sell much, but being the first one ever we didn’t expect to, doing a market is a lot easier when your next door neighbour is talented ,our neighbour was an artist/illustrator and sketched what she saw.

IMG_0741

We had an enjoyable day and our thanks go to the organisers at Green Croydon, who did the deeds.IMG_0740

 
We were really tired by the time we got home, it’s really hard work, the trick is making it look effortless by not collapsing at the stall.

About timbartell

I was born in a flat in Lambeth the name of which was, Wedgewood house,China walk estate.I'd forgotten this until recently,it dawned on me the significance of the names after I had become interested in pottery/ceramics.I think of myself as a potter in the most practical sense,making pots for people to use.I have never had any formal training,I took it up when the table tennis class was full.My first flat was in the same road as a pottery centre, Elmwood pottery, the best in London, 18 sessions a week and a real community. I love my craft and bore everyone with it, so am grabbing this chance to bore more people via this blog.There may be the odd interesting item, here's hoping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

