FIRST OF THREE CHRISTMAS FAIRS.WEALD AND DOWNLAND MUSEUM

The weather was great for the first day Saturday, we had to get up early to be there to set up.We were given a side room in Poplar cottage.

DSCN6663

We were gladdened when people started to come into our room, they some times are frightened by not being able to escape,we of course were charging them ten pounds to leave.We had a steady flow of people and the day went well, with a lot of humour and good banter. The museum had featured on the telly the Wednesday before so you could hear people talking about the things they had seen.The first day went well.

DSCN6668

The second was not so bright and sunny but dry still, this didn’t deter anyone I even saw people who had been there yesterday and popped in to buy what they hadn’t bought the day before. I made sure I had a little run around before the mass descended to see the new inhabitants ,

IMG_0426

Also to have a look at the colours

IMG_0424

We had another good day selling loads and were sad to leave our cottage it’s character had seeped into us over the weekend, I will put in an offer on it as soon as can, but will be disappointed as it’s a museum piece, like me.IMG_0430

About timbartell

I was born in a flat in Lambeth the name of which was, Wedgewood house,China walk estate.I'd forgotten this until recently,it dawned on me the significance of the names after I had become interested in pottery/ceramics.I think of myself as a potter in the most practical sense,making pots for people to use.I have never had any formal training,I took it up when the table tennis class was full.My first flat was in the same road as a pottery centre, Elmwood pottery, the best in London, 18 sessions a week and a real community. I love my craft and bore everyone with it, so am grabbing this chance to bore more people via this blog.There may be the odd interesting item, here's hoping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

