FIRING NUMBER TWO

With all the lovely hot weather we’ve had lately, I thought I might warm it up a little more by firing up the kiln.The contents represented the last two months worth of work,there was some raw stuff in there as well, so this had to be a very gentle and gradual firing.IMG_0158I started, after bricking up the front ,which takes ages,at 12.45pm and finished an agonising 16 hours later, the following morning at 6 am. It seemed it was only night for a little while,from the last twitterings of the blackbirds to the first twitterings of the blackbirds.

the classic pyrometer shot

the classic pyrometer shot

IMG_0218

There was the usual big panic at the end .I can’t seem to solve the problem of the temperature probe burning out, I got a bigger one and protected it with fibre but it still burnt out will have to ponder the problem, a little longer.

I emptied on Saturday afternoon and was pleased with the results, some collapses and cracks but this is usual, in fact I toasted my good fortune with a little beer from one of the tankards. There were many different clays in this firing.All scrounged,nicked out of trenches even a white firing clay from near the M25 slip road in Godstone,Iv’e called it Junction 6 clay.Some from Southwater, a new housing estate,Folkestone and tileworks clays.It’s cheap,once you’ve spent the three months in jail,but a lot of hard work processing it.

P1020876

I have had a request from the weald and Downland museum for a new colander,I ain’t never made one of those before so it will be a hole new experience for me.

P1020895

  • P1020900

P1020879P1020885

About timbartell

I was born in a flat in Lambeth the name of which was, Wedgewood house,China walk estate.I'd forgotten this until recently,it dawned on me the significance of the names after I had become interested in pottery/ceramics.I think of myself as a potter in the most practical sense,making pots for people to use.I have never had any formal training,I took it up when the table tennis class was full.My first flat was in the same road as a pottery centre, Elmwood pottery, the best in London, 18 sessions a week and a real community. I love my craft and bore everyone with it, so am grabbing this chance to bore more people via this blog.There may be the odd interesting item, here's hoping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

