It’s been a while

A lot hasn’t been happening since the last post,the winter has been a really long one this time,why, I don’t know ? It’s been the same length ,9 months,just seems longer, maybe it was the fact that we didn’t have a summer ah well,banging on about the weather or moaning about it is a national perogative.

The kiln is almost finished, what an effort, if I knew then what I know now, I would have taken up fishing. The other shocking thing was finding out how expensive everything is,my biggest expense were the burners.IMG_0155

I did have a try out of the burner ports where the flame shoots into kiln,it was really warm for a while. I hope that with the amount of insulation put on over the kiln it will use less of the precious energy.

IMG_0091

P1030949

IMG_0089

I have set the date for the first firing 21st March,which is a Thursday which will, if we run out of gas be a day when we can get some more. The first firing will be a reduction stoneware firing,subsequent firings will be at brown mud temperature, look out for bigger pots. Talking of which I will be going on a ‘throwing large’ course in Devon sDSCN6583oon, so watch out for the photos.

About timbartell

I was born in a flat in Lambeth the name of which was, Wedgewood house,China walk estate.I'd forgotten this until recently,it dawned on me the significance of the names after I had become interested in pottery/ceramics.I think of myself as a potter in the most practical sense,making pots for people to use.I have never had any formal training,I took it up when the table tennis class was full.My first flat was in the same road as a pottery centre, Elmwood pottery, the best in London, 18 sessions a week and a real community. I love my craft and bore everyone with it, so am grabbing this chance to bore more people via this blog.There may be the odd interesting item, here's hoping.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

