Mud and colour

Whatever the colour they always turn out red except if they’re white then they fire generally white or off white. I always have a trowel and plastic bag on my travels just in case I see some being dug for pipes etc. The green clay is from Friars cliff in Dorset and is probably from the Wealden clay group associated with Greensand ( sounds like I know what i’m talking about ) the grey clay is from Folkestone,this falls out of the cliff and is washed away into the sea.This is Gault clay, it has all sorts in it, loads of fossil shells,gypsum all shiney and sparkly and shrapnel from ww 2. The yellow clay in blagged from a brickworks in Kent and is lovely to work with,no results yet . This is called Kent clay. My house sits on clay, when they dug the footings for a new garage at no.42 there were skip loads of it,this too was yellow but quite hard to use, I made a little pizza oven with it but is barely holding up, this clay would probably be only good for cobb building.

There are many types and colours of clay in England, why not put a trowel and bag in your boot (make sure you’ve got a sock on ) and keep a look out.

About timbartell

I was born in a flat in Lambeth the name of which was, Wedgewood house,China walk estate.I'd forgotten this until recently,it dawned on me the significance of the names after I had become interested in pottery/ceramics.I think of myself as a potter in the most practical sense,making pots for people to use.I have never had any formal training,I took it up when the table tennis class was full.My first flat was in the same road as a pottery centre, Elmwood pottery, the best in London, 18 sessions a week and a real community. I love my craft and bore everyone with it, so am grabbing this chance to bore more people via this blog.There may be the odd interesting item, here's hoping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

