WALLINGTON FARMERS MARKET

Just come down from the Isle of Skye,through the streets in my kilt I go all the lasses say hello,Donald where’s your troosers.

Gawd knows where that came from,just come in from The Wallington Farmers market, where we didn’t meet a single Scotsman, but loads of other lovely folk out buying their very high quality local food.Locally grown Trout,chicken etc and locally caught crabs and fishes, quite how far local is, i’l leave that up to your imagination.

The last one we did in Feb was a little parky at minus 11 c, this time plus 10,slightly more comfy.At the last one the lovely lady from the lavender farm, www.mayfieldlavender.com, asked me to make some lavender/blue dilly dilly,mugs.There is a photo of one on this post not fired, I forgot to get a photo of them fired.The farm is well worth a visit when all the Lavender is out, I have never seen so many bees.Last year I asked her if she had any old stuff to stick in the kiln at my woodfiring course, she kept all the old bunches and they were fed into the kiln, there was a subtle blue colour perceptable, this year I am going to burn it first then throw into the firing.I am going to enjoy the perfumed fires.

You get a real sense of community at these markets and sense of place. When the oil runs out things will be even more local, at the range of horse and cart or solar car.

About timbartell

I was born in a flat in Lambeth the name of which was, Wedgewood house,China walk estate.I'd forgotten this until recently,it dawned on me the significance of the names after I had become interested in pottery/ceramics.I think of myself as a potter in the most practical sense,making pots for people to use.I have never had any formal training,I took it up when the table tennis class was full.My first flat was in the same road as a pottery centre, Elmwood pottery, the best in London, 18 sessions a week and a real community. I love my craft and bore everyone with it, so am grabbing this chance to bore more people via this blog.There may be the odd interesting item, here's hoping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WALLINGTON FARMERS MARKET

  1. I’m pleased things were a bit warmer for you this time, and equally pleased that you weren’t the one catching the crabs!!

    Good to hear you’ll be bringing more lavender to Moretonhampstead in the summer as I had some beautiful blue/mauve ash dribbles on one of my bottles last year. Tell the bees there’s a lot riding on their bumbling ways.

Leave a Reply

